IEEE Toronto AGM 2019 – Keynote Speaker Announcement: Darin PW Graham

We are very excited to announce this year’s keynote speaker: Darin PW Graham, who will be presenting “A Peek into the Toronto AI Ecosystem”.
Abstract: Artificial Intelligence (AI), and in particular Machine Learning and Deep Learning, regularly take the headlines of technology news everywhere. And, …

Kevin Zhang Selected for Region 7 2019 Larry K. Wilson Award

Congratulations to Kevin Zhang on being selected the Region 7 2019 Larry K. Wilson recipient. The IEEE Student Activities Committee and Mouser Electronics proudly sponsor this award.
Kevin Zhang was selected for this award based on his vital role in organizing and implementing IEEE student activities …

IEEE Toronto Nominations 2019

Dear Colleagues, Members of IEEE – Toronto Section:
As you may know, the IEEE – Toronto section membership elects the Section’s officers every Two Years according to the IEEE Nomination and Election process. This year 2019 is an Election Year.
The IEEE …

2019 IEEE Toronto Scholarship Application

The IEEE Toronto Section supports the education and training of undergraduate engineering students through a series of scholarships. The scholarships are available to students in the colleges and universities that are affiliated with the IEEE Toronto Section.
Key Dates:
Application Deadline: June 30, 2019
Award winners are contacted: …

2018 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment and Retention Performance

We are pleased to announce that the IEEE Toronto Section has met both of its recruitment and retention goals for the 2018 membership year. Thank you and congratulations to all members of the IEEE Toronto Section!
The membership development goals were developed based on our section’s …

Honorable Mention – 2017 WIE Affinity Group of the Year

Congratulations to the IEEE Toronto WIE Affinity Group for being named as the recipient of an Honorable Mention for the 2017 WIE Affinity Group of the Year Award. This award is given for demonstrated dedication and service to women in engineering, and providing enriching opportunities …

New Executive for IEEE Toronto 2018-2019

At the beginning of the year, a new set of officers has taken over the leadership of our section for the term 2018 – 2019. They are:
IEEE Toronto Section Chair
Olivier Trescases, PhD, PEng, IEEE SM
Associate Professor, University of Toronto

Dr. Olivier Trescases received his Ph.D. degree …

2017 Outstanding Section Membership Retention Performance

We are happy to announce that the IEEE Toronto Section has been awarded the “2017 Outstanding Section Membership Retention Performance” based on it’s three year membership development performance. Thank you to all of the volunteers that helped achieve this goal and all of our valuable …

IEEE Toronto Section Elections

The IEEE Toronto Section is active in serving the local members, the electrical engineering profession and the public through a large number of events, organized by a team of dedicated volunteers. In order to continue these activities, the section will hold elections on Saturday, October …

Dr. Thamir (Tom) Murad awarded the Order of Honour.

We are very happy to announce that the IEEE Toronto Section Chair, Dr. Thamir (Tom) Murad has just been included in the 2017 Order of Honour of the Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO). The Order of Honour is a recognition to professional engineers who have …